Working in Commercial Photography Today with Olivia Gideon Thomson

Working in Commercial Photography Today with Olivia Gideon Thomson

Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
£30.00
Tax included.

Saturday, 9 April 2022: Milan 6pm - 8pm / London 5pm - 7pm / NYC 12pm - 2pm / Los Angeles 9 - 11am

Class fee: £30
Limited number of participants: 50 (20x individual class tickets and 30x course tickets) 
Live on Zoom

Olivia Gideon Thomson’s Working in Commercial Photography Today class will give participants a unique understanding of the behind-the-scenes decisions made by photographic agencies and brands when selecting and commissioning commercial work. This class is an opportunity for photographers and other creatives to gain insights and direction for building a successful career in photography from an industry expert. 

The class will be divided into a one-hour presentation and one-hour seminar, audience participation is invited, with allocated time for a Q&A and group discussion.

 

Olivia Gideon Thomson started working in the industry in the mid-1990s as an assistant to Katy Baggott, Juergen Teller’s agent.  By the time she left in 2003 she was a managing agent having worked with other artists such as Dana Lixenberg, Stefan Ruiz, Koto Bolofo and Frederike Helwig. After turning freelance in 2003, she worked at advertising agency Mother for a year, bringing artists like Larry Sultan, Massimo Vitali, Stephen Shore and Broomberg + Chanarin, into the advertising industry, later working as their agent as part of the Bill Charles Represents agency. She set up We Folk in April 2009; it has become one of the leading artist agencies in the industry, building and harnessing creative talent globally.